temperature sensor bias

temperature sensor bias

Postby ronpei » Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:35 am

I had asked this under the Isaac thread but maybe this is the more appropriate place? I agree that the absolute temperature reading recorded in the Newton is not important to the calculations. What I want is to know why I can not seem to get true readings of the temperature that agree with the outdoor temperature when I download my data. It seems the bias is not perfectly linear but in general it records a temperature to the file which is 4-5 degrees C above the reality (yes after it has equilibrated outside even 10-15 minutes into the ride). Can this be dealt with in the device or in Isaac?
thanks
ronpei
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:47 am

Re: temperature sensor bias

Postby Velocomp » Mon Apr 13, 2015 1:30 pm

Not at this time.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4319
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: temperature sensor bias

Postby ronpei » Mon Apr 13, 2015 2:13 pm

so if I would like to have it read/ record the environmental temperature would the best/ only option be to change my setting in the newton through set up to bias it the amount it is out when it records the temperature? for example if my file gives a reading 4 deg C higher than the actual environmental temp, then go into set up and lower the current reading by 4 deg C? I will be trying this but curious what you think.
thanks
ronpei
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:47 am

Re: temperature sensor bias

Postby Velocomp » Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:24 pm

In FW 5 we don't offer the option to adjust the temperature bias. But you are correct that adding/subtracting a fixed amount from your reported temperatures is all that is required.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4319
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: temperature sensor bias

Postby Zoltan » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:22 pm

Velocomp wrote:In FW 5 we don't offer the option to adjust the temperature bias. But you are correct that adding/subtracting a fixed amount from your reported temperatures is all that is required.


I am someone who also needs/lacks this feature. I remembered that in FW4 there may have been a menu item in Newton+ where I could set an offset. So I checked the manuals and yes indeed there was an option.

Let me ask that were the elimination of this option together with the manual tilt calibration procedure just the "victims" of the goal of simplification of the set up menu of Newton+?
Zoltan
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:47 am
Location: HUNGARY

Re: temperature sensor bias

Postby Velocomp » Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:51 pm

Yes, these were items eliminated to simplify things. We have no plans to provide any updates to Newton firmware at this time.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4319
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am


Return to Newton Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest