wrong speed with new sensors

wrong speed with new sensors

Postby dieterstruye » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:11 am

I'm struggling to have the right speed on my newton device.
I used to work with the original ibike sensors and everything went well. On the same bike, using the same profile, i installed now sensors that are installed internally in the bike. (trek)
My newton is finding these without any issue, i did a cal ride. But the speed is wrong & fluctuating very strongly, as a consequence power & distance are also wrong.
The sensors & magnets are well installed & battery is ok.
As soon as i put back my original sensors on the bike, it's correct again.
What could i do to get a correct speed measurement?

thanks!
Dieter
dieterstruye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:49 am

Re: wrong speed with new sensors

Postby Velocomp » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:14 am

The problem is that your Trek sensors do not transmit a very strong signal, and because they are mounted internally in the frame, the signal is weakened even more, so that the Newton is receiving their transmissions only intermittently. This is what causes the sporadic power and distance calculations (speed dropouts).

You should continue to use the original sensors with your Newton.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4193
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: wrong speed with new sensors

Postby dieterstruye » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:27 am

ok thanks.
So no real solution but going back to original sensors which is fine.

However, any idea on where to get now ibike sensors to use with my TT bike & mountainbike? I cannot find any on the internet to buy seperately ...?
dieterstruye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:49 am

Re: wrong speed with new sensors

Postby Velocomp » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:31 am

The Garmin magnet-less sensors work very well.

Just be sure to put your speed sensor on the front hub of your bike
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4193
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: wrong speed with new sensors

Postby dieterstruye » Mon Jul 10, 2017 11:27 am

thanks a lot for your quick replies!
to be completely sure : the original ibike sensors are not for sale if i understand well? so as an alternative i go for the garmin ones.
thanks!
dieterstruye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:49 am

Re: wrong speed with new sensors

Postby Velocomp » Mon Jul 10, 2017 1:10 pm

We have the original iBike speed/cadence sensor. Please email technicalsupport@velocomp.com if you are interested.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4193
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am


Return to Newton General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests