Garmin compatibility announcement

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby Velocomp » Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:48 am

If you had Garmin firmware on your Gen II unit then please send us the serial number of your Gen III and we will send you the Garmin unlock key for your Gen III.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4336
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby marshr » Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:02 am

thanks, john, sent it via email.
Rick
marshr
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Poland, Maine

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby elkapower » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:05 pm

I have an Ibike Sport, wireless upgrade, Garmin 705 just received and am mounting as we speak. Question is will the 705 see my Sport? and will the Sport see my Garmin speed and cadence sensor, and Garmin HR strap?http://www.ibikeforum.com/posting.php?mode=reply&f=5&t=118&sid=d1ee588c45ce65e273388f8790c33f89# How do we synch it, same as the initial setup on the Wireless sport? So I can just use the 705 for all downloads power and the other relevant data?http://www.ibikeforum.com/posting.php?mode=reply&f=5&t=118&sid=d1ee588c45ce65e273388f8790c33f89#

Thanks for the reply, having a powermeter with the 705 (I travel extensively) will allow me to stay out of the bars, see the sites and get my workouts in all at once, without getting Lost again without daylight (backlight on the 705 is nice). Sucks to live on the road....no pun intended?http://www.ibikeforum.com/posting.php?mode=reply&f=5&t=118&sid=d1ee588c45ce65e273388f8790c33f89#
Jamis Dakar
Trek Multitrack
Litespeed Ultimate
They said buy a PC or better, so I bought a MAC!
elkapower
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:08 am
Location: NW Indiana

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:14 pm

Did you upgrade the iSport to an iPro or iAero? Or did you just go wireless?

Did you buy the Garmin FW update for the iBike whatever flavor it may be?
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby elkapower » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:18 pm

Just got the wireless since i needed to run the trainer, and did not get any Garmin upgrade.
Jamis Dakar
Trek Multitrack
Litespeed Ultimate
They said buy a PC or better, so I bought a MAC!
elkapower
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:08 am
Location: NW Indiana

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby elkapower » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:28 pm

What is the FW update, firmware? Did not pay for any updates, but I have the Microcard Maps, and have the Mac updater etc. stuff downloaded. Also have the WKO software downloaded. Why? Do i still need a firmware for the sport which has no ports on it, IE do I need to send it in for a new case, port install, ie. don't know the next step?
I would like the Power meter function on the Sport to go into the 705 for mapping and logging data. Automated data collection and data warehousing and integration is where I want to go. Time is money, and i am not interested in fiddling with data. I would rather ride for the time it takes for the data fiddling effort.

Thanks, sorry if elements of this discussion are already covered.
Jamis Dakar
Trek Multitrack
Litespeed Ultimate
They said buy a PC or better, so I bought a MAC!
elkapower
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:08 am
Location: NW Indiana

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:37 pm

If you didn't upgrade your iSport to either an iPro or iAero then it can't pick up the Garmin spd/cad sensor and it cannot transmit power to the Garmin 705, because you can't install the firmware upgrade.

The FW I was talking about was the iPro or iAero Garmin compatibility firmware that is available as an option here:
http://www.ibikesports.com/detail.aspx?ID=34

I suggest you contact Velocomp support. They may or may not have another option for you.
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby Izzy » Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:32 pm

Does this mean that to use the Garmin I still need the iBike main unit as well as the wireless mount, is that correct? Or can I use the Garmin by itself as long as I have the wireless mount? I presume I need the iBike main unit to be able to use the firmware, is that also correct?
Izzy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:49 pm

Izzy wrote:Does this mean that to use the Garmin I still need the iBike main unit as well as the wireless mount, is that correct? Or can I use the Garmin by itself as long as I have the wireless mount? I presume I need the iBike main unit to be able to use the firmware, is that also correct?

The wireless head receives data from the wireless speed, cadence and hr sensors, then passes them forward to the iBike. It also transmits the power numbers it receives from the head unit to the Garmin.

However, without the iBike head unit, the wireless mount does nothing.

Yes, the Garmin firmware gets loaded into the iBike.
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby ludlaw » Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:14 am

I have an iAero on my tandem and want to transmit the power data to the stoker. Will the iAero transmit the power data to a Garmin 500? Do I need the Garmin firmware upgrade to the iAero for it to transmit power data?
ludlaw
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:51 am

Yes and yes.
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby ludlaw » Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:12 pm

As I thought...thanks!
ludlaw
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby ludlaw » Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:56 pm

Ever since I added the Garmin firmware I have to do a tilt calibration before each ride. Is there some reason for that?
ludlaw
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:30 pm

Who says you have to? I have Garmin upgrade and haven't done a tilt calibration in months. The same spot on my den shows the same slope every time.
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby lorduintah » Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:38 pm

Maybe you have some older firmware?

Tom
User avatar
lorduintah
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Sat Sep 04, 2010 7:40 pm

lorduintah wrote:Maybe you have some older firmware?

Tom

I was going to say "Who is you?" But upon further thought there is nothing in a Garmin firmware upgrade that affects tilt or tilt calibration. It's simply allowing communication with a different ANT+ device.
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby lorduintah » Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:35 pm

I was piping in to the previous post not your's Fernando.------------> ludlaw.
User avatar
lorduintah
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby ludlaw » Mon Sep 06, 2010 2:30 pm

Ever since I added the Garmin upgrade when I start a ride my tilt is off...by 3-6 degrees. Prior to adding the Garmin upgrade I hadn't done a tilt calibration in months. Now I have to do it before each ride. I have the 4.2 firmware. Maybe just a coincidence. I use the iAero on two different bikes and have the same experience on both.
ludlaw
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby lorduintah » Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:32 pm

It might help to do something John suggested for someone else.

Do a tilt calibration before your ride like you have been doing. Go for the ride and download your ride as usual. Also go to the Edit Profile screen - advanced tab and hit the get tilt cal from iBike. Then accept this profile and finally send this "modified" profile back to the iBike. While you are looking at the cal file values - make sure nothing looks really odd. If there is something, the cal data may have been corrupted.

This could be cause for a hard reset (flip the battery) - and send the profile to the iBike and set the time/date.

Tom
User avatar
lorduintah
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby racerfern » Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:39 pm

One has nothing to do with the other. Try this:
Do a tilt calibration then connect to the computer and go to profiles. Go to the current profile and click "Get tilt from iBike" or whatever it says. Now accept the changes. Lastly, go back to profiles and send the profile back to the ibike with the new calibration attached.

That should take care of the problem. Oops, this must be the solution as two of us are posting basically the same answer.
Fernando
User avatar
racerfern
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 am
Location: Baldwin, NY

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby lorduintah » Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:51 pm

Fernando - we are really on the same wavelength!!!!
User avatar
lorduintah
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:37 am
Location: Plymouth, MN

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby acevans » Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:35 am

Is there a Garmin compatibility firmware for the iBike Dash + Power?
acevans
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:54 pm

Re: Garmin compatibility announcement

Postby Velocomp » Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:13 pm

acevans wrote:Is there a Garmin compatibility firmware for the iBike Dash + Power?


No.
John Hamann
Velocomp
Velocomp CEO
 
Posts: 4336
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:43 am

Previous

Return to iBike Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron